Is it a right time to invest in bulk in Mutual Funds ?

Discussion in 'Ask A Query About Your Stock Picks And Portfolio' started by M Ghosh, Jan 15, 2016.

1. M Ghosh

M Ghosh New Member

I am an Army Officer. I am investing on behalf of my mother who is recently widowed in order to secure her future and augment her income as well as ensure good returns to increase the corpus for my daughter's future. Please advise. My corpus is Rs 20 lakhs. thank You. M Ghosh

onquest likes this.
  2. BombayBoy

BombayBoy Well-Known Member

Ghosh ji,

Please accept my sincere condolences on your loss. May God give your mother the strength needed to get through this.

The markets are terrible now and will worsen before stabilising.

I wouldn't recommend going with mutual funds for your mother. You could consider some fixed income - bonds, liquid funds and annuity plans.

For your daughter's future, you can certainly look at equity funds. And if you're comfortable, you'll get a lot of bluechip stocks to look at from a long term perspective.

Do consider the taxation and any schemes available for senior citizens. Consulting a professional financial planner would be a good start.

M Ghosh likes this.
  3. M Ghosh

M Ghosh New Member

What do you recommend by which I could beat inflation ? Bank FDs are not helpful.

4. BombayBoy

Savings rates will only go down. You could consider the bond issues by various govt bodies for a secured and fixed income. Equity linked funds will be good to go with for participating in growth. But they won't perform unless the economy and markets revive. A liquid fund would be good in current markets.

I don't say a buy or sell normally, but I'll bet my money on SBI now. The downside is limited. You can also look at Infosys. This, only if you'd like to take the direct equity route.

K.Mahesh and Chintan h Trivedi like this.
  5. New_Investor

New_Investor Active Member

BB,