Lost-all-hope Stocks - Need Strong Advice

Discussion in 'Ask A Query About Your Stock Picks And Portfolio' started by Raaz, Aug 29, 2015.

1. Raaz

Raaz Active Member

Am in a dilemma about what to do with the following stocks:

Cranes Software @ 5/-
    3IInfotech @ 7/-
    Autoline @ 139/-
    TTML @ 30/-
    Jindal Stainless @ 68/-

Guess I am an expert at picking them out!!! Except 3IInfotech, I am stuck with the rest since 7-11 years.

All advice will be gratefully welcomed. Thanks.

2. Meenakshi Razdan

Meenakshi Razdan Administrator Staff Member Moderator

I think more than the specific stocks, it would be a good idea to focus on the investment process. What causes us to be lured to such stocks with weak fundamentals? It is the greed to make maximum gains in the shortest possible time. This greed causes us to throw caution to the winds and buy stocks with no proven track record in the hope that they will turn into multibaggers and make us rich overnight.

If we can realize the fallacy in our thinking and investment process, we can avoid making such mistakes in the future.

I also suggest a change in the attitude. Instead of feeling bitter and miserable about the losses, treat them as a "tuition fee" paid to learn a life-long lesson in investing. If you do learn a "life-long" lesson, then the price you have paid is really a bargain!

For the future, I suggest you develop a conservative approach. Make sure that preservation of capital is the first priority. Gains is the second priority. Invest in stocks with reputed managements with a long track record of performance. The companies should have good RoE and low/nil debt. They should have shown a consistent track record of growth and profitability.

After you have identified a few such stocks, it is a good idea to write down a paragraph or two on the salient features of the stocks - their strengths and weaknesses. This will help to clarify your own thoughts and also help to develop conviction.