New to stock market.

Discussion in 'Ask A Query About Your Stock Picks And Portfolio' started by basit, May 5, 2015.

1. basit

basit New Member

Hello friends

I am a student and an aspiring investor.I am just starting to invest.In this regard i want your advices on which stocks to pick.So please guide me on this. I dont have much capital currrently so I hope will recommend some affordable stocks ;D

Stocks I am currently looking at:

Granules india, Vip industries, meghmani organics, ptc
    india financial services .

Waiting for your replies

2. Meenakshi Razdan

Meenakshi Razdan Administrator Staff Member Moderator

Welcome! Congratulations on starting so young. You have a long, long way ahead of you. If you plan it well, you can achieve financial independence.

The important thing to remember is not to get carried away with the notion that one can make "quick money" from the stock market. Instead, you must always remember that the stock market is a "very dangerous" place. If you buy the wrong sort of stocks, your hard-earned money can evaporate into thin air in no time.

There are a number of excellent articles available on how beginners should approach the stock market. I'll find them and post the link here.

Basically, you must ensure that you only buy those stocks which you understand well and which are within your "circle of competence". Also, as a rule, before committing any capital to a stock, write down a page on why you are investing in the stock, what its prospects and risk factors are.

You can start with a brief analysis of the four stocks that you have set out. I suggest you pick one stock, say Granules India, and research it thoroughly. There are already a number of research reports available on the stock. Read each of them, identify their salient points, and put it down in a few bullet points. This will help you get a good understanding of the stock and help develop your conviction in its future.

I'll post more links to articles here.

3. basit