Nifty Sensex PE

Discussion in 'Ask A Query About Your Stock Picks And Portfolio' started by Karthikeyan, Oct 10, 2015.

1. Karthikeyan

Karthikeyan Member

Hi,

I am S.Karthikeyan, a newbie.

Would like to thank all the great people, who contribute a lot in maintaining this highly informative forum.

I am new to stock markets.I have been reading a lot on the web and kindle abt stock picking and when exactly to buy and sell.

Some say that when the PE of Sensex/Nifty touch 23, it is time to start exiting. Fresh buying can start only when PE falls below 18, in their opinion. Now(9/10/2015), PE of Sensex is 22.84 and that of Nifty is 21.97. Going by this school of thought, one should not buy now and wait till price corrects strongly. If PE of Nifty has to go below 18, we have to wait till index falls well below 7000, which seems quite unlikely.

I am confused and would like to hear from the experienced traders.

Thanks,
    S.Karthikeyan

2. Carl Icahn

Carl Icahn Active Member

Hi Karthikeyan, welcome to the forum.

Personally, I think the logic that one should pay attention to the Sensex or the Sensex P/E is flawed. The Sensex is made up of several companies from various sectors. It has metal and commodity stocks which are presently in a bear market cycle, it has Pharma and I.T. stocks which are presently in a bull market cycle, it has PSU banks which are reeling under a NPA crises, it has oil and gas stocks which are troubled owing to the low crude prices and so on.

So, if you choose a stock, say a Pharma stock, on the basis that it has good prospects and is available at reasonable valuations, how does the state of the Sensex matter to you?